Geographic Components of Consolidated Metropolitan Statistical Areas (CMSA’s)
1990 Census Definitions

(Counties and PMSAs in bold print correspond to the 1980 SMSA definition.)
Those marked with an "*" have not changed since 1980.


Boston-Lawrence-Salem MA-NH CMSA

1. Boston MA PMSA (Suffolk County, parts of Bristol, Essex, Middlesex, Norfolk, Plymouth, and Worcester Counties)

2. Brockton MA PMSA (parts of Bristol, Norfolk, and Plymouth Counties)

3. Lawrence-Haverhill MA-NH PMSA (parts of Essex County MA and Rockingham County NH)

4. Lowell MA-NH PMSA (parts of Middlesex County MA and Hillsborough County NH)

5. Nashua NH PMSA (parts of Rockingham and Hillsborough Counties)

6. Salem-Gloucester MA PMSA (parts of Essex County)


Buffalo-Niagara Falls NY CMSA

1. Buffalo NY PMSA (Erie County)

2. Niagara Falls NY PMSA (Niagara County)


Chicago-Gary-Lake County IL-IN-WI CMSA

1. Aurora-Elgin IL PMSA (Kane and Kendall Counties)

2. Chicago IL PMSA'(Cook, DuPage, and McHenry Counties)

3. Gary-Hammond IN PMSA (Lake and Porter Counties)

4. Joliet IL PMSA (Grundy and Will Counties)

5. Kenosha WI PMSA (Kenosha County)

6. Lake County IL PMSA (Lake County)


Cincinnati-Hamilton OH-KY-IN CMSA

1. Cincinnati OH-KY-IN PMSA (Clermont, Hamilton, and Warren Counties OH, Boone, Campbell and Kenton Counties KY, and Dearborn County IN)

2. Hamilton-Middletown OH PMSA (Butler County)


Cleveland-Akron-Lorain OH CMSA

1. Akron OH PMSA (Portage and Summit Counties)

2. * Cleveland OH PMSA (Cuyahoga, Geauga, Lake, and Medina Counties)

3. Lorain-Elyria OH PMSA (Lorain County)


Dallas-Fort Worth TX CMSA

1. Dallas TX PMSA (Collin, Dallas, Denton, Ellis, Kaufman, and Rockwall Counties) (1980 SMSA definition also included Hood and Wise Counties)

2. Fort Worth-Arlington TX PMSA (Johnson, Parker, and Tarrant Counties)


Denver-Boulder CO CMSA

I. Boulder-Longmont CO PMSA (Boulder County)

2. Denver CO PMSA (Adams, Arapahoe, Denver, Douglas, and Jefferson Counties) (1980 SMSA definition also included Gilpin County)


Detroit-Ann Arbor MI CMSA

1. Ann Arbor MI PMSA (Washtenaw County)

2. Detroit MI PMSA (Lapeer, Livingston, Macomb, Monroe, Oakland, St. Clair, and Wayne




Hartford-New Britain-Middletown CT CMSA

1. Bristol CT PMSA (parts of Hartford and Litchfield Counties)

2. Hartford CT PMSA (parts of Hartford, Litchfield, Middlesex, New London, and Tolland


3. Middletown CT PMSA (parts of Middlesex County)

4. New Britain CT PMSA (parts of Hartford County)


Houston-Golveston-Brazoria TX CMSA

1. Brazoria TX PMSA (Brazoria County)

2. Galveston-Texas City TX PMSA (Galveston County)

3. Houston TX PMSA (Fort Bend, Harris, Liberty, Montgomery, and Waller Counties)


Los Anqeles-Anaheim-Riverside CA CMSA

1. Anaheim-Santa Ana CA PMSA (Orange County)

2. Los Angeles-Long Beach CA PMSA (Los Angeles County)

3. Oxnard-Ventura CA PMSA (Ventura County)

4. Riverside-San Bernardino CA PMSA (Riverside and San Bernadino Counties)


Miami-Fort Lauderdale FL CMSA

1. Fort Lauderdale-Hollywood-Pompano Beach FL PMSA (Broward County)

2.* Miami-Hialeah FL PMSA (Dade County)


Milwaukee-Racine WI CMSA

1. Milwaukee WI PMSA (Milwaukee, Ozaukee, Washington, and Waukesha Counties)

2. Racine WI PMSA (Racine County)


New York-Northern New Jersey-Long Island NY-NJ-CT CMSA

1. Bergen-Passaic NJ PMSA (Bergen and Passaic Counties)

2. Bridgeport-Milford CT PMSA (parts of Fairfield and New Haven Counties)

3. Danbury CT PMSA (parts of Fairfield and Litchfield Counties)

4. Jersey City NJ PMSA (Hudson County)

5. Middlesex-Somerset-Hunterdo NJ PMSA (Hunterdon, Middlesex, and Somerset Counties)

6. Monmouth-Ocean NJ PMSA (Monmouth and Ocean Counties)

7. Nassau-Suffolk NY PMSA (Nassau and Suffolk Counties)

8. New York NY PMSA (Bronx, Kings, New York, Putnam, Queens, Richmond, Rockland,

and Westchester Counties)

9. Newark NJ PMSA (Essex, Morris, Sussex, and Union Counties)

10. Norwalk CT PMSA (parts of Fairfield County)

11. Orange County NY PMSA (Orange County)

12. Stamford CT PMSA (parts of Fairfield County)


Philadelphia-Wilmington-Trenton PA-NJ-DE-MD CMSA

1. Philadelphia PA-NJ PMSA (Bucks, Chester, Delaware, Montgomery, and Philadelphia Counties PA and Burlington, Camden, and Gloucester Counties NJ)

2. Trenton NJ PMSA (Mercer County)

3. Vineland-Millville-Bridgeton NJ PMSA (Cumberland County)

4. Wilmington DE-NJ-MD PMSA (New Castle County DE, Salem County NJ, and Cecil County MD)


Pittsburgh-Beaver Valley PA CMSA

1. Beaver County PA PMSA (Beaver County)

2. Pittsburgh PA PMSA (Allegheny, Fayette, Washington, and Westmoreland Counties)


Portland-Vancouver OR-WA CMSA

1. Portland OR PMSA (Clackamas, Multnomah, Washington, and Yamhill Counties)

2. Vancouver WA PMSA (Clark County)


Providence-Pawtucket-Fall River RI-MA CMSA

1. Fall River MA-RI PMSA (parts of Bristol County MA and parts of Newport County RI)

2. Pawtucket-Woonsocket-Attleboro RI-MA PMSA (parts of Providence County RI and parts of Bristol, Norfolk, and Worcester Counties MA)

3. Providence RI PMSA (Bristol County, parts of Kent, Newport, Providence, and Washington Counties)


San Francisco-Oakland-San Jose CA CMSA

1. Oakland CA PMSA (Alameda and Contra Costa Counties)

2. San Francisco CA PMSA (Marin, San Francisco, and San Mateo Counties)

3. San Jose CA PMSA (Santa Clara County)

4. Santa Cruz CA PMSA (Santa Cruz County)

5. Santa Rosa-Petaluma CA PMSA (Sonoma County)

6. Vallejo-Fairfield-Napa CA PMSA (Napa and Solano Counties)


Seattle-Tacoma WA CMSA

1. Seattle WA PMSA (King and Snohomish Counties)

2. Tacoma (Pierce County)